The dirty thirty

Today’s a day I’ve been dreading for a while. Today I kiss my 20′s goodbye.

30th edit

But dammit, WHY do I need to be so anxious about turning 30? What’s with this weird self-imposed sense of doom just because I’ve managed to survive 30 years in this crazy world? In a lot of ways I feel like I haven’t accomplished enough, but you know what? I like to think I’ve done some pretty cool stuff before hitting the age of 30. To take a page from my dear friend Linda (who loves to categorize things into numbered lists), here’s 30 things that I’ve managed to accomplish in my 30 years on planet earth:

  1. I’ve had the privilege to eat some of the best barbecue in Texas, and therefore, THE WORLD.
  2. I ate a balut and liked it.
  3. I’ve eaten grasshoppers and they were delicious. (grasshopper tacos at Hugo’s for anyone who’s interested)
  4. I’ve jumped out of a plane. But I WON’T go bungee-jumping.
  5. Went to a drive-in theater!
  6. I auditioned for a reality TV show (along with Linda!) and was immediately eliminated before even getting a chance to tell the producers about myself.
  7. I’ve watched a brain surgery where a tumor the size of a golf ball got plucked out of a dude’s head. A few days later I’m chatting with the guy and all I could think was “oh my god, I watched your skull get sawed apart just days ago!” Amazing.
  8. I managed to sucker a dude into putting a ring on my finger! HA! HE’S STUCK WITH ME NOW.
  9. I’ve lived through all the right decades to see video games progress from cheezy 8-bit goodness to the crazy cinematic beauties that they are now. AWESOME.
  10. I’ve had the privilege of going to San Diego Comic-Con (aka the mecca of geeks) not just once, but THREE times. Hoping for more in the years to come.
  11. I’ve seen the Dalai Lama speak. Missed out on seeing the pope when I visited Rome because I took one look at the line at 6 am and was like NOPE.
  12. I’ve successfully grown a Chia pet! Yes, I own a Chia pet.
  13. I’ve traveled to 14 countries and hope to add many, many MANY more in the future.
  14. I’ve eaten ramen in six cities. Hoping to add many more to this because I WILL EAT FRESH RAMEN ANYWHERE.
  15. I busted my head open and got 6 stitches. I wish it was because of something cool like a bar fight, but I actually tripped while going up the stairs. Because I’m SUPER talented like that.
  16. I managed to close a car door onto my own head. Again, because I’m SUPER talented like that.
  17. I learned to play the piano (and have mostly forgotten by now)
  18. I learned to play the violin (and have completely forgotten by now)
  19. I learned to figure skate (I can move around on ice just fine, but don’t expect me to do anything fancy)
  20. I tried to throw a ninja star and failed horribly.
  21. I shot some guns (oh, Texas) and actually did pretty alright.
  22. I’ve raised a butterfly from a caterpillar. It didn’t die! Hooray!
  23. I’ve seen Anthony Bourdain speak. He’s just as much of a badass in person as he is on TV.
  24. I bought myself something nice from Tiffany’s to reward myself for slaving away at a rough job for 1 year.
  25. I made an impulse visit to the science museum at 1 am to see (and sniff) a rare blooming corpse flower.
  26. I hiked for 3 days on foot to see Machu Picchu!
  27. Related: I ate a roasted guinea pig in Peru.
  28. I’ve visited a reportedly haunted location. Actually, I’ve visited two. Being a skeptic, I didn’t see anything happen, but the haunted hotel I stayed at WAS pretty creepy.
  29. I taught myself how to crochet!
  30. I’ve made enough mistakes to know better, but still have enough curiosity in me to go out and make more.

I’d say I’ve done pretty well for the first thirty years of my life. My teens were full of awkward growing pains, my 20s were a time of self-development, and now in my 30s I can reap the benefits of all the time spent cultivating who I am today. Today I turn 30. And I’ve never felt better.

This entry was posted in Misc., Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The dirty thirty

  1. dangrdafne says:

    Happy 30th Birthday!
    Congratulations on living life the way it should be: Make a few mistakes, learn, have fun and by george LIVE!!!! What a great list of all the amazing things you have done in your life. Keep up the amazing life ;)

  2. Leanne says:

    Happy 30th!! Welcome to the club! Like you, I also felt some sense of impending doom about turning 30 then I decided to say, screw it. And that’s a pretty impressive list of accomplishments too! Here’s to many many more!

    P.S. – You forgot to add to the list, draw Leanne an awesome poster mashing up Pucca crushing on Tom Riddle. ;P

  3. Cecile Fleetwood says:

    Sounds like you have a good start on a life list! You are awesome!!!! Keep up the good work. Hope to see you at next SD CCI!

Leave a Reply

