Showin’ some crochet love: Coffee edition!

I’m a hopeless caffeine junkie. Not in the sense that I chug 5 cups of coffee a day or anything, but more in the sense that I’ve been on a one-cup-a-day habit for so long now that I get throbbing headaches if I go just one day without a caffeine fix. Houston has plenty of good coffee shops in the sense that they’re great places to socialize, lounge around, or get some work done over a nice hot beverage. On the other hand, not many of them actually have good coffee. I’m not saying that the other places have bad coffee by any means, but they’re not going to be the places that you’d visit if you want fresh and local roasted coffee for its own unique and inherent taste. That’s where Catalina Coffee comes in.

Photo credit: Catalina website

I’ll preface this by saying that Catalina isn’t my favorite “stay and hang out” type of coffee shop. It’s relatively small, there’s no free wi-fi (but you can try to bum off of some from the places next door), and tables are small, so it’s not really ideal for students/people trying to simultaneously squeeze in a coffee break and work. But dammit, this is 100% where I go if I want a good, freshly roasted cup of coffee that doesn’t need any extra syrups, whipped cream, or fancy toppings to make it taste better. I usually go for a cortado:  a shot of espresso with equal parts steamed milk. I’m not enough of a coffee buff to drink straight espresso, but the cortado is the ideal grab-n-go caffeine fix for me…small portion, plenty of caffeine kick, and about as unadulterated as it comes in terms of the actual coffee itself. I don’t need to add sugar…the coffee is just that smooth. 🙂 On the other hand, if a cortado is too strong, they make some mean lattes and mochas too. They’re not overly sweet, and they always have pretty pretty latte art to boot. 🙂

That being said, since Catalina’s been my go-to source for good cups of coffee, and the fact that I’ve actually sat down and crocheted “in the wild” there on a few occasions, I thought I’d make them a little gift. 🙂

The little heart on top isn’t as pretty as the ones that they make on their lattes, but hopefully it spreads the love one way or another! 🙂 And with that, I dropped by today, ordered a cortado to go, and handed the lil’ guy off to the barista. Spreading more crochet love around town, one critter at a time. 🙂

Catalina Coffee:
Website: http://catalinacoffeeshop.com/
2201 Washington Avenue
Houston, TX 77007
(713) 861-8448

This entry was posted in crochet love, Fandom, Food, H-town love, Local flava. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Showin’ some crochet love: Coffee edition!

  1. Linda says:

    So sweet of you to show your appreciation this way.

Leave a Reply

