Comic-Con: the epically geeky recap

I’m back home from the land of uber-geekiness, San Diego Comic-Con! Spending 4 days in a crazy explosion of geekiness seriously messes with your brain. You come back and things seem a little too…normal. At any rate, here’s my recap of the GEEKY EPICNESS:

  • Celeb sightings: There were lots of celebrity sightings, and there was a moment where I was walking right next to one without even noticing, but OMFG I CAUGHT A GLIMPSE OF ROBERT DOWNEY JR.’S FACE. He was across the room. And I only saw half of his  face for half a second. But DAMN. How does that man have SO MUCH SWAGGER?? I got extensive viewings of plenty of other celebs, but Robert Downey Jr. reduced me to a screaming schoolgirl in LESS THAN A SECOND. GAH.
  • Crappiest moment: Waiting in line at the Fox booth for an hour to get a Fringe observer fedora (it’s seriously a pretty cool fedora), only to have the attendants suddenly say “SURPRISE! We know you’ve all been waiting here, but we’re handing out hats on the OTHER SIDE. LOLWTF.” Chaos ensued. Shoving commenced. People received fedoras and angry attitudes. Blech. Otherwise, hey, cool fedora!
  • The panels: 
    • Big Bang Theory: I let out an audible squeal when they announced Mythbuster’s Adam Savage as the moderator. Super fun panel, and at the end, they gave away a trip to space. A FREAKING TRIP. TO SPACE. WTF.
    • Walking Dead: AWESOME. They released the trailer for season 3 (NYAH I GOT TO SEE IT FIRST) and the crowd went nuts. Chris Hardwick is a fabulous moderator who knows how to stir a crowd and keep a good conversation going. Also, we discovered that poor Steven Yeun (Glen) seems to attract young girls as his fanbase. Also, I want to have Norman Reedus’s (Daryl) babies.
    • Game of Thrones: This kind of sums up how I felt. I know George R. R. Martin is a beloved writer and all, but there’s a sharp difference between when professional hosts (like Chris Hardwick) moderate panels and when people who aren’t in the business do so. Lots of awkward moments. Lots of yes-or-no questions. Just…dull overall. Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark) likes to mess with her hair a lot. Alfie Allen (Theon Greyjoy) kinda sat in his own little world. Richard Madden (Robb Stark) is pretty to look at, but other than that he didn’t have a whole lot to say. Emilia Clarke (Daenerys) on the other hand is freaking ADORABLE. The only thing that really made up for this lackluster panel was the super-sweet goodie bag everyone got out of it.
  • Feel-good moment: I honestly didn’t think anyone would spot me in the massive crowd of 100,000+ people at Comic-Con this year, but lo and behold, on the first day that I posted “Find Me, Find the Henchmen,” a pair of uber-nice gentlemen stopped me in the street and asked “Excuse me, but are you the one who makes those little crocheted dolls?” They told me that their friend has been keeping track of my adoptions and they’ve been helping him find critters! I confirmed their suspicion, and after having a great chat (they’re actually artists from Canada!) I handed over the Henchmen and went on my merry way. Next thing I knew, the friend who had been tracking my adoptions ran up to me, thanked me profusely, and handed me a signed copy of his book along with an adorable little paper pirate!  So much geeky sharing at Comic-Con. Gives me the warm fuzzies.

You can find more of Hilary‘s work at Ninja Cowboy Bear. Thanks so much for the book!

  • SUPER GEEK OUT MOMENT: Right before I left for Comic-Con, I ended up getting a wave of extra attention to this blog, thanks to a retweet by the wonderful Clare Grant (aka Mrs. Seth Green!) of Team Unicorn. And since I knew both Clare and her hubby Seth would be out and about at Comic-Con, I whipped up two more critters right before I left for Comic-Con in hopes of handing them off:

I made a little robot chicken for Seth Green

And a little Sailor Moon for his lovely lady. She cosplayed as Sailor Moon at Comic-Con a few years back, so I figured it’d be appropriate. 🙂

I figured I’d personally hand them over if I could, otherwise I’d just have to mail it to them somehow through their publicity offices or something. I wasn’t able to hand the lil’ Robot Chicken to Seth Green, but I DID meet all of Team Unicorn at their signing. I walked up to the table, asked them to sign my Munny doll (my designated autograph item), and as soon as I pulled out the critters, Clare’s eyes grew wide and she immediately snatched it from my hand. The girls of Team Unicorn squealed. I squealed back because they were squealing over something I made (“Me? YOU guys are squealing over ME??”). They exclaimed “These are amazing!” I exclaimed “YOU guys are amazing!” HUGE GIGGLY GEEKGIRL FEST. OMFG. TOO MUCH HAPPY GEEKINESS. I wish I had a video running because that was a moment full of so much ridiculous geekgirl excitement that I know it’ll never happen again in my lifetime. And if anyone ever doubted it, the ladies of Team Unicorn are every bit as awesome and gorgeous in person as they are on screen. They truly are like unicorns, because people who are that ridiculously pretty and awesome just aren’t supposed to exist. They’re breaking laws of nature, I tell you. 🙂

Clare Grant with her critters, Rileah on the left signing my Munny doll!

Michele Boyd with Chun-Li! I felt it was only appropriate to hand off the only girl in my critter adoption lineup to one of the Unicorns. I like how the blue in Chun-Li’s outfit matches Michele’s dress. 🙂

  • The swag/shopping: Here’s just a portion of all the awesome stuff I collected while I was out in San Diego:

“DAMN YOU, FEDORA IN THE MIDDLE.”

But I’d say this was the item that I coveted the most:

SOLD OUT, SUCKAS. AND I GOT ONE!
Photo by my friend Tuan

I actually had to go through a bit of hassle to get my Homer Buddha (mostly due to ordering errors on the vendor’s part), almost to the point where I was getting kind of disillusioned and was about to walk off without one, but once I got it and opened the box, I knew happy Homer Buddha was a good purchase. He’s sitting atop a donut. He’s got the big buddha ears. Prayer beads in one hand and a pretzel in the other. Indeed, this is Homer Simpson when he has reached nirvana. Yesssss.

  • Final “that really happened” moment: My backpack was flagged and searched at the airport. Because I mindlessly left a stray bottle of fabric glue in it, which reads as a strange liquid object. I brought it with me in case I had to fix up any of my critters right before dropping. The inspector guy was cool and raved on about past Comic-Cons that he’d been to while he was digging through my bag, but man, OF COURSE my bag would be alerted by security over a rogue bottle of fabric glue. CROCHET THUG FO’ LIFE.

Aaaand that’s it for my Comic-Con recap! I think it goes without saying that I totally plan on going back again. I’ll post up a final tally of the critters later, but I’ll wait another week or so to see if I get any more responses back. I’m hoping I won’t have too many of them filed away in the “lost” files this year…last year I only had two classify as missing, so I’m hoping for a good turnout this year too! And on that note, I go back to trying to adjust back to real life. Le sigh.

This entry was posted in SDCC. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Comic-Con: the epically geeky recap

  1. Sounds like you had an amazing trip. Thanks for the update!

  2. It’s so cool reading about other people’s trips to SDCC because very few attendees ever have exactly the same experience. Glad you had such a good time, and the part about Team Unicorn is awesome!

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Yes! SO much going on. So overwhelming and awesome at the same time. And that Team Unicorn moment probably overshadows any future geekout moments that I’ll ever have. Sigh.

  3. Kimi says:

    My friends (specifically @Jedisaber) and I tried SO HARD to catch one of the critters, but we were always just a little too late! I hear that @Jedisaber did get one eventually through other means (or something) though, so that was cool. ^_^ It was lots of fun to hunt for them – hope we get to try again!
    -@TawnyPixie-

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Glad you guys had fun! Definitely a different experience for me this year, since it was the first time that I had people actively looking! Last year I just dropped them and crossed my fingers that they wouldn’t end up in the trash, haha.

Leave a Reply

