Got a copy of “Creepy Cute”? Make a lil’ hero!

First, let me get this out of the way: if you haven’t done so already, please vote for my entries in the Instructables.com Fiber Arts contest! Voting ends in 3 days, so please vote away! I’ve got four entries: Chewbacca, Spock, my lil’ zombies, and lil’ Link. You can vote for as many (or as few) entries as you like. 🙂

Either browse through the entries and click the “vote” button under the entries that you like, or click on the individual entries to open them and click on the little orange “vote” banner at the top right (Chewie & Spock are actually entered into two contests, so feel free to submit a vote in both of them ;)). And if you’ve already voted, THANK YOU, YOU ARE SUPER AWESOME! Woohoo! At any rate, relevant to this: one of the entries I’ve submitted is lil’ Link:

READY TO SAVE HYRULE! Oh yeah, and the princess. I guess he can go save her royal peskiness too.

He’s one of the most time-consuming little guys I’ve ever made (Link clocks in at roughly 8-10 hours), and while I was digging through some of my scraps in my crochet supplies, it turns out I actually wrote down some scribbles on my progress with Link! So with that, I’ve written my first ever semi-pattern. I say semi-pattern because Link’s head, body, and ears were taken directly from patterns in “Creepy Cute” by Christen Haden, so I won’t be reposting those directions out of respect for the author. I guess you can consider it more as an addendum to a previously published pattern. 🙂

I’ve been hesitant to post patterns, because 1) I rarely write down what I make, and 2) I get paranoid that someone will try to sell my patterns as their own design. Because of the whole theft thing, it turns sharing patterns into less of a fun community project and more into “HEY, LET ME SET SOME RULES LIKE A CRANKY SCHOOLTEACHER BEFORE YOU START MAKING FUN STUFF.” But I guess that’s the name of the game in the internet age. At any rate, Link’s a pretty great little dude, so I’d love to see other people’s results! So let’s get the cranky schoolteacher part out of the way, eh? My rules for this pattern:

  1. It is a-okay to sell any finished products that you make from this pattern! Link is very time-consuming because of all of his little accessories, so in the case of finished products, you are more than welcome to profit from the time and effort poured into the work. He takes some time to make, but he’s worth it!
  2. You are NOT permitted to take my semi-pattern and sell it for profit. I can’t imagine anyone trying to sell it since it’s not a complete pattern, more of an addendum, but meh, people will do weird things these days for money. 😛

So without further ado, you can find directions for making your own lil’ Link HERE. And if you make one, let me know! I’d love to see your results, or to see what kinds of variations you add to make him even more epic! E-mail me at geekyhooker [at] gmail [dot] com, tweet me a photo, or post it to my Facebook page! LITTLE HEROES FOR ALL!

This entry was posted in Patterns, Video games, Zelda. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

