“Game unplugged. Please help.”

For anyone who’s seen Wreck-It Ralph, we all remember (spoiler but not really a spoiler!) the sad story of Q*bert.

Qbert unpluggedWe find poor Q*bert without a game and looking for help. He tried other jobs:

Qbert tree

He didn’t do so well as a Christmas tree ornament. He just kept hopping his way up and down the tree.

Qbert sink

And it was kinda hard for him to be a dishwasher if he didn’t have any arms.

qbert game

The good news for little Q*bert is that there’s still plenty of people who still love the same games that we played long ago to keep them alive and kickin’. 🙂

My confession: I’d actually never played Q*bert until after seeing Wreck-It Ralph! I spotted a Q*bert console at an arcade, put in some tokens…and promptly failed the first level. WTF. It’s alright, I’ve always been more of a fan of Rampage anyway (random destruction FTW!). And so I ask all of you: what are some of your favorite vintage video games?

This entry was posted in Video games. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Game unplugged. Please help.”

  1. Linda says:

    Alan and I play PacMan at Dave and Busters. He beat me for the very first time last weekend. Very upsetting.

  2. “Vintage”, you say? Bah! I’ll have you know that today’s “vintage” machines were brand spankin’ new when I was haunting arcades as a wee one in the glorious early ’80s. I was there, MAAAAAANNNNNN!!!

    I’ve got a bevy of favorite games, including: Pengo, Crystal Castles, Q*Bert, Burgertime, Mario Bros., Super Pac-Man, Crossbow, Marble Madness, Spy Hunter…and, yes, Rampage!

    I also played a ton of Rastan, Michael Jackson’s Moonwalker, WWF Superstar, and Smash TV as a teenager. God bless bowling alleys and Stop-N-Gos, for carrying on after the arcades died off.

    And since you’re a local, you have to know about Joystix and the annual Arcade Expo. They keep the great games alive.

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Holy crap, Michael Jackson’s Moonwalker, ha! And YES to Joystix. The first time I went I was like “You mean I can have my booze AND my video games?? WUT.” Which reminds me that I need to take a Friday night off soon to go back. 😀

  3. Oh, holy crap! I forgot my absolute favorite game of all: ZOOKEEPER!!!

    It was the very first game I remember playing, at a Kroger grocery.

    (And big ups to Joust, which eventually replaced Zookeeper at that very same store.)

  4. Cayla says:

    My mom is crazy playing PAC man

Leave a Reply

