“I leave you my portrait…”

A while back, a friend that I had met in passing in Austin asked me if I wanted to do an art trade. She does super awesome embroidery work, and I love her art, so I agreed. Then came the SUPER fun part. We decided to list off each other’s geeky interests, and we’d send off each other’s trades as a surprise! So here was her list of interests:

“Ok. I’m going to list favorite characters so this is easier. Bender from Futurama, LSP and Marceline from Adventure Time, Geordi and Worf from ST:TNG, Spike from Buffy, Darth Vader!, Aquaman and the Batman baddies- Riddler and Two Face are my faves.
In the not *quite* nerdy category, I also love Downton Abby, Frida Kahlo and old cameras.
Time to sketch!”

So many fun ideas! Bender would’ve been the perfect shape for crocheting. Making a tiny Two Face would’ve been a fun challenge too. But the one that immediately stood out to me was Frida Kahlo. Because HOW COULD I PASS UP MAKING A TINY UNIBROW?? And so I present to everyone, little Frida Kahlo:

Frida 3 edit

“I leave you my portrait so that you will have my presence all the days and nights that I am away from you.” ~Frida Kahlo

frida 4

I had so much fun making this one that I actually made one for myself. I’ll be posting Katie’s surprise that she sent to me next week! In the meantime, check out her awesome work here. Hooray for art trades! šŸ˜€

This entry was posted in trades. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “I leave you my portrait…”

  1. Linda says:

    This is my favorite!

  2. rchackman says:

    haha, awesome!! These critters are amazing. you open to suggestions? would love to see a runner critter come to life!

  3. Sibi says:

    pattern?

Leave a Reply

