“This DOES compute!”

My friend Katie does some pretty awesome stuff with a needle, thread, and some felt.

Daria!

My hands hurt just THINKING about how much work must have gone into this one.

A while back, she asked me if I was interested in doing an art trade. We listed off each other’s geeky interests, and based on those interests, we sent each other a surprise item! Here was the hefty list I sent her:

Video games: Zelda, Katamari Damacy, Super Mario Bros
Movies: My boyfriend’s a Star Wars fanatic. I’m particularly fond of Tarantino movies (Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs are my favorite). Also love Monty Python & the Holy Grail, This is Spinal Tap, and my absolute favorite movie is Amelie, but that’s more French than nerdy, haha.
TV: Adventure Time! And lately I’ve been religiously keeping up with Walking Dead and Game of Thrones. And I LOVE Downton Abbey, but I think that’s kinda straying from the nerdy category, haha.

Last week I posted about how I sent her a little crocheted Frida Kahlo. Shortly after I sent out her little Frida, I received this in the mail:

IMG_6704

It’s BMO! The crazy little hand-held video game console that also serves as a video player, a camera, a detective (see “BMO Noire“), and well…he/she/it’s just a helpful little thing. I love it!

note

I love that she took my interests in video games and Adventure Time and put them into one awesome piece.

bmo-1

flower

She even threw in this sweet little flower ring!

IMG_6797-001

It’ll go perfectly with my Bat-Finn and Robin-Jake!

You can find more of Katie’s awesome work at her blog, or you can contact her for commissions at kt.cowden [at] gmail.com. Hooray art trades!

Katie Cowden, Textile Artist

Blog: http://katiemakesart.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KatieCowdenTextileArtist
Twitter: @katietakesfotos
E-mail: kt.cowden [at] gmail.com

This entry was posted in Adventure Time, trades. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

