A hairy situation

First off, I’m back from Canada! I didn’t freeze! Hooray! My twitter feed makes it look like all I did was hop from one Tim Horton’s to another, which kinda indicates where I found all the free wi-fi in Toronto, haha. I can assure you, I did much more than just hang out at Tim Horton’s, and I had a grand ol’ time. 🙂

Anyway, in hookin’ news, I’ve been working on a critter for my sister as a birthday gift for someone close to her. The thing is that the character she wanted has a full head of hair. For anyone who’s been following this blog long enough, you may have noticed that there’s a significant lack of critters with long, flowy hair. There’s a reason for that: putting hair on a critter is a ROYAL PAIN IN THE ASS. Allow me to explain:

hair comic

For all my fellow hookers out there: IS THERE A GOOD SOLUTION TO THIS?? It takes me FOREVER to get a good full head of hair that won’t end up massively poofy, and it’s incredibly time consuming because I end up having to fine-tune it strand by strand. I also have the misfortune of being picky about the material I use for hair too…I don’t like using yarn because it’s thick and makes things look even poofier (and too Raggedy Ann-ish), but certain threads are too thin and make the hair look super flat (also, they tend to fray easily and make things look ugly over time). Blah. I can’t post photos of the work in progress because it’s a birthday surprise, but if anyone has suggestions, please enlighten me. At the rate I’m going, a character like Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII would make me want to yank my own hair out. Any help for this hooker?

This entry was posted in Misc.. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A hairy situation

  1. Jeni says:

    Have you tried using this method from NeedleNoodles? http://needlenoodles.com/home/?q=node/83 I don’t have a hairpin lace tool, so what I do is flatten a cardboard tube, and use that. And, yes, I realize how cheap that is, LOL.

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      I have! It’s actually the first method I’ve tried. 🙂 It definitely seems to be the most efficient way to add hair, but I had some trouble fine-tuning it after all the fringe was added on…after I ran the fringe around the head, it still resulted in a crazy ‘fro from all the layers of thread/yarn piling on top of each other and I couldn’t seem to find a way to thin it out. 😦 I might have to try this method again though…looking back through the tutorial, it’s making a lot more sense. Or maybe I’m just tired, haha. For the record, I totally used a strip of cardboard when I tried this method! 😀

      • Jeni says:

        LOL, cheap and efficient, FTW!
        Maybe try using a lighter weight yarn? Like, instead of Worsted, use Sport? I don’t know :/ I have a similar problem, but all of my dolls (like Ponyo) are supposed to have wild and crazy hair. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

