Turning lead into gold. Or something like that.

So the little critter that was giving me grief because of his long flowy hair last week? It’s done! And it’s already been handed off to the intended party, so public photos will no longer spoil the surprise. πŸ™‚

edward

Everyone say hi to Ed! Ed, say hi to everyone.

My sister asked for an Edward Elric from Fullmetal Alchemist as a birthday gift to someone close to her. This became a challenge for two reasons: 1) he’s got long flowy hair, which I’d previously expressed why this is an issue, and 2) I’ve never actually watched Fullmetal Alchemist. I think I remember watching the first few episodes, and I’d seen some snippets here and there when my boyfriend marathoned “Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood.” I kinda got a basic gist of things from seeing it in passing (they make stuff from chalk circles, a kid’s trying to get his arm back, etc.), but otherwise I was essentially blindly making a character. And you know what? I like a challenge every now and then. πŸ™‚

edward back 2

The hair. THE CURSED HAIR.

edward circle

“…you want me to transmute a cheese pizza out of some rocks? That’s not really how alchemy works, dude.”

Google image searches were obviously a big help in making this lil’ dude, but there’s always a feeling that I’m missing something when I’m not familiar with the little nuances of the character. It wasn’t my first time making a character I wasn’t familiar with…I didn’t know much aboutΒ Brobee when I made him a while back, but I felt like watching a few Youtube videos of Yo Gabba Gabba was enough to give me the general idea. Fullmetal Alchemist seems to be a much more complex story, so I guess it made me a little more nervous not knowing as much about the character. In the end, the intended recipient recognized little Ed (whew!), and more importantly, he loved his new birthday buddy! Woohoo! A huge sigh of relief was let out, and with that, little Edward Elric found a new home. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Anime. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning lead into gold. Or something like that.

  1. lisachu says:

    That’s awesome!! As a HUGE FMA fan, I approve (not that you need MY approval, just cheering you on) πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

