Peru = Magic

I’m back! Remember how I was so worried that the trip might be one huge mistake? No mistakes were made. I didn’t mind getting up super early in the morning for the hikes. The climbs were tough, but absolutely worth the work. I came back hobbling like an old woman with 3 busted toes and I’d still go back and do it again. It was THAT amazing.

In Peru I drank many pisco sours:

DSC00579

And ate guinea pigs:

DSC00581

They honestly taste JUST like chicken, just with less meat. The crisped skin was like skin from roast pork, but thinner, so it was more crispy instead of crunchy. So overall it was like roast chicken with thin pork cracklings on top. Pretty darn good.

I ate through an AMAZING local market:

DSC00442 DSC00459

DSC01461

DSC01466

I saw some breath-taking scenery:

DSC00828

DSC00820 DSC01096

DSC00781

And climbed up to great heights:

DSC01302

And of course I saw Machu Picchu!

DSC01225

Truly stunning.

DSC01240

Soaking up the sun like the king of the Incas.

…and this happened too. HAND PHOTOBOMB!

DSC01267

Obviously a very eventful and significant trip for me. I’d do it again in a heartbeat, injuries and all. Even if you don’t want to do the hike, you can take a train to see Machu Picchu from Cusco. Either way it’s absolutely worth seeing, and Cusco itself is so rich with culture and art that I could’ve spent a few extra days just immersing myself in everything it has to offer. Gracias, Peru. It was a magical time.

Otherwise, now that I’m back, I’ve got a TON of crocheting to do before Comic-Con! Hookers can’t seem to get a break. 🙂

This entry was posted in Food, Misc., Ramblings, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peru = Magic

  1. Linda says:

    Beautiful photos and is that a pink diamond or the lighting?

  2. Pingback: The dirty thirty | The Geeky Hooker

Leave a Reply

