COMIC-CON 2013! The recap

Holy crap, Comic-Con’s over. It’s always a weird feeling coming home after a weekend full of geekiness. Where’s all the Batmans wandering the street? Where’s all the Supermans (Supermen?) waiting in line with hobbits for a cup of coffee at Starbucks? WHAT DO YOU MEAN IT’S OVER?? Sigh.

At any rate, it’s another Comic-Con in the books for me! Here’s a recap:

Highlights:

  • EATING RAMEN. Ok, I know that doesn’t have anything to do with the convention itself, but look, I live in Houston. Houston has AMAZING Chinese and Vietnamese food, but it’s sorely lacking in good Japanese eats. With the help of some recommendations from followers on both twitter and facebook, I ate at 3 different places for ramen. AND IT WAS AWESOME.

    ramen

    WHATEVER, I DON’T HAVE A PROBLEM. I CAN STOP WHENEVER I WANT.

  • Getting into the Sherlock panel without having to camp out early in the morning. Woohoo!
  • Running into Bobak Ferdowsi (aka “mohawk guy” from the Mars Curiosity rover landing), Deep Roy, and Jordan Hembrough from Toy Hunter! It’s my 3rd time at Comic-Con, and this was the first time I’d casually run into anyone while I was out and about!
  • Remember how I made this hand-stitched cross stitch phone case for myself?finished
    I found a booth at Comic-Con that actually featured the sad T-rex!
  • DSC01709
    I showed the people at the booth my phone case, and they loved it so much that they gave me a t-shirt! God, so much nerd love at Comic-Con, it gives me the warm fuzzies every time.
  • Getting responses back on a whopping THIRTEEN out of the 14 critters I dropped!! That’s just outstanding! You guys can’t imagine how excited I was to see that close to every single one of my critters found happy homes. I’ll be making a separate post about the critters, because the turnout was so extraordinary that it deserves its own post!

Lowlights:

  • The World’s End promotional scavenger hunt. There was a hunt going on where if you found 12 cards (one representing each of the 12 pubs featured in the film), you got a chance to see a secret screening of the movie. My friends and I scrambled around town, found all 12 cards…and then nothing was mentioned about what to do with the 12 cards or how to redeem them for tickets for the screening. Nothing on twitter. Nothing on the website. Even the people handing out the cards didn’t know. Then we found out they were simply handing out wristbands for the screening to anyone who showed up at the theater. WTF was the point of running around town for those cards then? Argh.

Panels!

What’s Comic-Con without questioning your own sanity while waiting in line for HOURS (sometimes overnight) for some panels? Here’s some of the notable ones that I saw:

  • Sherlock: At first I wasn’t sure if it was worth trying for this panel since Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman weren’t going to be there, but dammit, the show would be nothing without its brilliant writers, so I went ahead and stood in the ever-growing line. And it was totally worth it. Steven Moffat is one witty sonofabitch. Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch had pre-recorded greetings…Martin Freeman is out filming The Hobbit, but when Benedict’s greeting was shown, holy CRAP. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many people rabidly scream at a recorded message. CRAZY. For anyone who’s wondering if they gave any hints towards what happened at the end of season 2, they said that everything you need to know is in the end of the episode, so there’s nothing that doesn’t go unexplained if you were to watch the end over again and dissect every frame. Also, THEY PLAYED A CLIP FROM SEASON 3. CAN’T WAIT FOR SEASON 3. OMG OMG OMG.

    DSC01680

    Oh HAI MYCROFT.

  • The World’s End: Probably my favorite panel out of them all. The combination of having Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Edgar Wright, and Chris Hardwick on one stage is enough assurance that this was going to be a hell of a fun panel. And boy did they deliver. Half the time they didn’t even talk about the film, they just trashed talked each other, they poked fun at audience members (in a good way!), and just had an all around good time. GREAT way to start my morning.
    DSC01876
  • Riddick: I’ve never watched any of the Chronicles of Riddick films. I didn’t even know they made more than one to begin with. But I’ll say this much: 1) Even though I wasn’t much of a Battlestar Galactica fan, Katee Sackhoff looked HAWT. Damn girl! 2) Vin Diesel is surprisingly a charming speaker! I always thought of him as being kind of a meathead who no talky good. Totally judged that book by its cover.
    DSC01936
  • The Walking Dead: Another fun panel! The cast of The Walking Dead has always had good chemistry with each other, so they like to have fun when they’re all together on stage. We also learned that for every character that gets killed off, they hang a photo of them in their boardroom with their casting number as a “memorial.” And dammit, how is David Morrissey so damn charming? He didn’t even say anything particularly interesting during the panel and he still had everyone flipping out over him. *Sigh.*
    DSC01994
  • Game of Thrones: MUCH better than last year’s miserable panel. And the best part is that Jason Momoa (aka KHAL FRIGGIN’ DROGO) crashed the panel! I don’t even remember who was talking, but suddenly this huge dude randomly runs out, grabs Emilia Clarke (Daenerys) to give her a kiss on the cheek, and scampers back off the stage. YOU GET BACK HERE, MY SUN AND STARS!
    DSC02137

The swag:

It’s funny how my swag-grabbing habits have evolved over the past 3 years. My first year it was like “HOLY CRAP FREE SHIT GRAB EVERYTHING IN SIGHT!” My second year it was still “HOLY CRAP GIMME” but I was slightly more selective about it. This year it’s more like “Free T-shirt? They never have my size and therefore I never wear them, moving on. A poster that’s only going to end up in the recycling bin when I get home? Moving on. WHOA, FREE LEGO STARSHIP ENTERPRISE? GIMME.” So my swag collection’s a lot smaller this year, but I like to think I got whatever I felt was worth taking. 🙂

DSC02603

And as for exclusives, I’m not much of a toy collector (that would be my fiance’s job), but there was just ONE item that I REALLY wanted:

DSC02606 (edit)

HELLO KITTY AKUMA ACQUIRED. SUCCESS!

Another year, another round of the battlefield of geekiness known as San Diego Comic-Con. Already crossing my fingers that I’ll get a badge for Comic-Con 2014! And now it’s time for me to work off this Comic-Con withdrawal. Phooey.

This entry was posted in SDCC. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to COMIC-CON 2013! The recap

  1. Thomas says:

    LOVE the Hello Kitty Akuma!

  2. Marissa says:

    Which ramen places did you eat at?

  3. Went to Under Belly and that was one cool ramen place. Having comic-con withdrawals too. Bummer didn’t get a chance to pick one of your critters

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Underbelly’s slices of pork belly were the best ones out of the 3 places I tried, hands down. Super friendly staff too. Dammit, now I want more ramen. Sigh.

  4. Cecile Fleetwood says:

    Just wanted to let you know that the baby wookie that you donated to the Blood Drive was adopted by a VERY appreciative Blood Donor! Thank you so much for your adorable donation!!! We had nearly 1500 units of blood donated!!! Hope to see you next year!!!

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Ahh that’s so awesome! I’ll gladly donate another prize next year if you’ll have me! 🙂

      • Cecile Fleetwood says:

        Are you KIDDING! Of course we’d love to have you!!! My only regret was that I was too busy to go hunting! Ah well, maybe next year. Thank you so much!!!!

  5. The baby Chewbaka that you donated to the Blood Drive at ComicCon was adorable! The woman who won it was THRILLED! Thank you for supporting the Robert Heinlein Blood Drive this year!

  6. gabroll says:

    Sad T rex here, come by next year and we’ll improve your selective swag collection substantially. 🙂

Leave a Reply

