Dye-ing to know…

So when I go on long crocheting marathons, I wear this hideously ugly “comfort glove.”

glove

Lookit that skin-tone hawtness.

Yup. Pretty freakin’ ugly, and I never wear it if I’m crocheting out in public. I’ve been hoping to maybe dye it brown and paint a Triforce onto it so it’ll look something like one of Link’s bracers in the Legend of Zelda. So something like this, but on that ugly glove:

I don’t know the first thing about dyeing fabrics. The closest I found to trying something at home without blowing money on dyes that I won’t use again is something along the lines of boiling it with some coffee grounds, and that sounds HIGHLY iffy since I don’t know anything about how different fabrics react to boiling water. Here’s a shot of the care tag:

glove tag

WTF is “Med-a-likra”??

Anyone have experience in fabric dyeing? Any words of wisdom? Or if you just want to say hi and geek out over something, that’s cool too. 🙂

This entry was posted in Misc., Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dye-ing to know…

  1. Kim says:

    It’s been a while since my textile printing class (we dyed stuff all semester), but in general if you want to dye synthetics you’re going to have to use the toxic chemicals. (RIT and Jacquard probably won’t do it.) A quick internet search yielded this: http://www.prochemicalanddye.com/home.php?cat=387

    • Kim says:

      Also, please let us know what works! I have one of those gloves too and I never wear it ‘cuz it’s so ugly! 🙂

      • Geeky Hooker says:

        It’s so ugly I feel dumb wearing it even when I’m home. By myself. Ick. I’ve been scared to mess with it because I don’t want to buy another one if I end up damaging it somehow! I’m sure that Med-a-likra is some premium shizzle. 😛

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Dang, I had no idea! Thanks!

      • Kim says:

        You can do this stuff at home, just be safe. Follow the safety instructions from the manufacturer, but the most basic rules are: LOTS of ventilation, wear gloves, don’t use pots you cook food in (duh).

Leave a Reply

