HOOK ‘EM!!

A friend had asked me for this TWO YEARS ago, and I never got around to it until now. I’m a terrible friend. Either way, after a two-year delay, here he is:

 IMG_8543 copy

It’s Bevo! Our beloved longhorn, mascot of the great University of Texas.

It’s not the first time that I’ve made a college mascot. Last year I made a little cougar for Bare Bowls food truck while they served the hungry masses at the University of Houston campus. I earned my professional degree at UH, but UT is where I spent my undergrad years, and even though I never graduated from there (I jokingly tell people I’m a biochem dropout), my years at UT carry so much more meaning to me. It’s where I learned to be comfortable in my own skin, it’s where I learned that I REALLY suck at Counterstrike, it’s where I learned some great life lessons from some of the best professors I’ve ever had, and it’s where I solidified a friendship from high school and met two more people who would become my closest friends in life. UH built my career, but UT built my character.

IMG_8537 copy

So with that, Bevo holds a special place in my heart. It’s been a long two years, but he’s finally come to life! Apparently our football season is off to a rocky start, but maybe this lil’ dude can bring some good luck, starting tomorrow against Ole Miss. HOOK ‘EM!

This entry was posted in school mascots. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HOOK ‘EM!!

  1. Roma says:

    Hello,
    This is one of the cutest little bevo that I have seen! I would love to make one for my husband. Can you please share your pattern:) I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

  2. Do you sell this pattern anywhere? I really love it and would love to make one myself!

Leave a Reply

