The hooker got hitched!

wedding gift book rings

Ahoy! Yes, there’s been some radio silence around here, but I like to think it was for a pretty good reason: I got married! I’m still waiting on photos from my photographers, but in the meantime I had to share an incredibly thoughtful and unexpected surprise that I got at my wedding. When my sister stood up to give her maid of honor speech, she mentioned my critters, and presented me with this:

wedding gift book cover

Getting the book in itself was already a surprise. The bigger surprise was what was in it:

wedding gift book intro

Old friends?

wedding gift book coffee and totoro

“The Geeky Hooker’s journey into…well, hooker-dom all began with a cup of coffee… And then she moved on to tree spirits…but one thing remained the same. She gifted them to others and spread joy. Now it’s their turn to pay her back…”

Holy crap, these are some of the first critters I’d ever made! Little lopsided coffee cups and lumpy totoros.

wedding gift book stitch

“Stitch happy to hear you will have a new ‘ohana’ to be a part of. (Congratulations on your wedding!)”

Oh snap! Aloha Stitch!!

wedding gift book brobee

“May your married life bring you joy & excitement, just as the family you placed me into, has brought me! May love fill your heart like mine has been filled with love from Leighton & Micah! Luv, Brobee”

And hello to you too, Brobee, Leighton, and Micah!

wedding gift book ed

And Ed and Al! (LOVE the tinfoil Al)

wedding gift book penguins

And the penguin pals, hanging out in the wild!

wedding gift book chewie

“Meow! Woof! Rawr! Bok?! CONGRATULATIONS! YAY! The translator finally got it right, finally. I’m so happy for you for marrying your HAN SOLO! I wish both of you the very best every day. Please share lots of laughs, drink lots of champagne, and eat all the cake!”

And Chewie! Good to see he hasn’t destroyed too much of his adoptive home. And yes, plenty of cake and champagne was there! 🙂

wedding gift book deadpool

“CONGRATULATIONS! Wishing you an eternity of smiles and tacos. From Taiwan with love.”

Oh Deadpool. Tacos and smiles definitely go hand in hand. I especially love the bowls of noodles on this page. Clearly my ramen obsession hasn’t gone unnoticed. 🙂

wedding gift book GH

“Stitch after stitch with hook in hand you have created many cute critters. May your life be filled with all the joy your critters have brought to the world.”

And a greeting from Spock, Batman, the 11th Doctor, and a minion! Holy crap. Just…HOLY CRAP. Check out this insane drawing that came with it:

GH Congrats

So. Freaking. EPIC.

You guys, I don’t even know where to begin. Having my friends and family around me at my wedding was already enough to make it an incredibly special day, but to have complete strangers near and far take the time out of their day to make this? I’m speechless. The world can be an ugly place, but to see the kindness of strangers in my hands like this has absolutely blown me away and made my wedding day that much more meaningful to me. To everyone who participated in this incredible gift, THANK YOU. To everyone who wished me well for my wedding, whether it was through e-mail, facebook, or twitter, THANK YOU. I can’t even begin to express how much it all means to me, from the support I had during that silly dress contest up until a few weeks after the wedding when I was still getting kind messages from people all over to congratulate me. It was a day full of love and friendship, and to see how far that expanded was overwhelmingly amazing to me. From my little corner of Texas and from the bottom of my heart, thank you all. ❤

This entry was posted in crochet love, friends, Misc.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The hooker got hitched!

  1. diane says:

    do you ever sell your little creations? My autistic son would adore the little Baymax!

Leave a Reply

