San Francisco: The recap

I’m back from San Francisco where I ate, I saw…and probably still didn’t eat or see enough. Here’s a slice of how the weekend went:

Highlights:

  • I did the touristy thing and took a trolley! It was actually pretty fun and it’s a great way to see some good views of the city from the streets.

trolley

  • I got drinks at Tonga Room & Hurricane Bar, which was basically Rainforest Cafe for adults. SUPER gimmicky and cheezy, but the drinks are strong (*ahem*) and it was definitely something fun to see once.
  • I did the other touristy thing and got a photo at the Golden Gate Bridge!

brdige

  • THIS SANDWICH. OH MAH GAWD, THIS PORCHETTA SANDWICH. Got it from Roli Roti at the Ferry Building Farmer’s Market, and holy hell, it’s everything good in this world between bread. Savory, unctuous pork belly, peppery arugula, and crispy cracklings sprinkled throughout to add a crunch. SO EFFING GOOD.

porchetta

  • THESE EGG TARTS. (@#*&$@(*#&$ THESE EGG TARTS. Best egg tarts of my LIFE. Perfectly flakey crust, and somehow they managed to get an AMAZINGLY creamy custard that’s just set in without making that delicate crust soggy. Got them from Golden Gate Bakery, they’re even better than ones that I’ve had in Asia. I thought about getting some to bring home, but I knew they wouldn’t be the same if I tried to reheat them. I love that there’s two little pissed off Cantonese ladies working at the counter…they were merciless if you didn’t speak Chinese, but they were merciless if you DID speak Chinese as well. No discrimination here. The egg tart nazis fed me well.

ggb

  • I found Yoda! The Lucasfilms lobby was closed though, so my husband and I ended up peering through the windows like a bunch of creepy stalkers to see all the cool stuff inside.

yoda

I ate and drank plenty more than what I’ve got posted, but other food highlights include ridiculously good handmade mochi at Benkyodo (little pillows of happiness, I tell you), lots of good coffee from Philz and Blue Bottle, and kouign amanns from b. patisserie. Oof. Bottom line is that San Francisco fed me well and I came back happy and a wee bit heavier. 😀

Things that I’ll have to come back for:

  • Oysters at Swan Depot
  • Visiting Alcatraz
  • Seeing the Painted Ladies
  • Visit the “Full House” house?
  • Seeing the sealions
  • Sushirrito?? Funny how I had no qualms over eating a roasted guinea pig in Peru, but I’m skeptical about this thing.

And of course the icing on the cake during my trip is that all three of my critters were found! And I got some fantastic pictures sent to me by all the adopters! 🙂

Three successful adoptions out in NorCal! Thanks to everyone who picked up a critter, and thanks to everyone who joined the hunt and gave me recommendations on where to go! One thing that I’m still shocked about is how my goofy little hunt got picked up by the local press. I’m extremely grateful for them spreading the word (many of them asked if it was okay to share first, so I greatly appreciate that they gave that courtesy!), and I’m sure it’s a huge part of why my three drops were successful this past weekend. I’m just an idiot on vacation, so admittedly it’s still puzzling to me that it’d be featured in the news when there seems to be SO MUCH going on in a lively city like San Francisco, but I guess there are worse things they could be reporting on! There could be better things, but there could be worse. 🙂 And because of the attention I got from the local press, I now have this AMAZING clip from ABC7 News where I get to hear the word “hooker” read aloud in that perfect news anchor cadence. It still cracks me up every time. I love it. LOVE IT.

Thank you San Francisco, for your food, your hospitality, and for allowing this hooker to leave a few sacks of yarn behind. I’ll have to come back someday, if not to eat more, then to bring some more critters to take over!

This entry was posted in Adoptions, Disney, Pixar, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Francisco: The recap

  1. RCubed says:

    Glad you enjoyed SF! That’s really cool that you were featured on the local news. There will be lots more to try out the next time you visit (Sushirrito’s pretty good in my opinion).

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      I like sushi, and I like burritos, so logically a sushirrito should be good to me! Maybe I’m too much of a purist in both camps, but I’ll have to come back and try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

