Castle of Dreams: Studio Ghibli art show

Over the weekend I had some of my work up at the Castle of Dreams: Studio Ghibli tribute art show. It was a small and casual art show, with over 200 pieces of work on display in all kinds of media, free beer, and lots of fun enthusiastic people in attendance. There were paintings, sculptures, painted wood rounds (some of my favorites!), and other crocheted items in addition to mine! Check out all the goodness!

…and then there was my stuff, which looked pretty underwhelming compared to all the other amazing art that was out there.

Ghibli show-34

But hey, all three pieces got sold! If there’s one thing I’ve taken away from this, it’s that I need to learn to present my work better if it’s going to be up for purchase. I’ve gotten used to taking some photos of my critters and then unceremoniously dumping them in public places, so presentation “in the wild” wasn’t on my mind. Maybe I’ll put it all in a nice diorama and price the entire thing instead of having a bunch of sad looking little items in a glass case. One way or another a lot of great art was shared, and proceeds all went towards the Center for Recycled Art! I’ll have to look into more art shows around town, I’d definitely do this again. 🙂

This entry was posted in Anime, crochet love, H-town love. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Castle of Dreams: Studio Ghibli art show

  1. I love the frame with the Totoro ears & whiskers! Everything else looks awesome too.

Leave a Reply

