Gear for the littlest heroes

A few weeks ago I got an email from a staff member of WhedonCon, a charitable fan convention that celebrates all things Joss Whedon. She told me that she organizes an event called WhedonKnit Nights, where people come together to knit and crochet things to donate items for Newborns in Need, and was wondering if I could donate a pattern of my own design for the cause. She said that the charity was in need of baby hats, blankets, booties, and sweaters. I’ve been crocheting for 6 years. I’ve never made anything wearable or remotely useful in that time. Try something new? Make something geeky? And for a good cause? I’ll bite!

I asked her how “Whedon-strict” the items needed to be. Would Avengers be kosher? Or are we looking more along the lines of Firefly? She told me anything that was related to Joss Whedon or made a reference towards his work was fine. WELL THEN. That opened up LOTS of options. This was going to be fun.

Baby Jayne Cobb hats seem to be an obvious choice, but there are already plenty of free patterns out there for those, so I wanted to try something different. Captain America immediately came to mind. A little Captain America baby beanie with a little shield blankie sounded perfect to me. Here’s the thing. Everything I’ve made for the past 6 years has been in the 3″ range. The hat wasn’t too much of an issue. Since it was all done in one color, I was able to keep adding rows until it got to a good size. The blanket is where things went wrong.

shield-fail-copy

FAIL. FREAKING FAIL.

I wish I had a better picture to show just how stupidly small the “blanket” initially turned out. It ended up being 9.5″ across, and that’s AFTER I stretched it out a bit. It was barely bigger than a personal pan pizza. This was a blanket meant for preemies, and it wasn’t even big enough to be a napkin.

giphy

I had to take it apart down to the blue center and work it up all over again. Surprise! Babies (even premature babies) are juuuuuust a little bigger than the 3″-sized items I’m used to making. Just a little.

I worked it up over again, and finally! Much better! Managed to add a good extra 5 inches or so to the diameter.

shield

It’s not exactly made out of vibranium so it doesn’t hold up too well on your forearm, but I think it’ll do well enough to keep a baby safe and warm.

shield-drape

And of course you’ll need a little helmet to go with that shield. Safety first, folks.

hat

Hopefully everything will be fit to keep the littlest heroes warm.

hat-shield

Patterns for the baby beanie and shield blanket are up for FREE can be found here. Tag me in any photos you post of your work, I’d love to see how it all turns out! Share your work if you make anything from the patterns, and share the patterns too! Happy hooking!

Here’s the link to the pattern again: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/captain-america-baby-beanie–shield-blanket

  • Credit is given where credit is due, the pattern for the star in the center of the shield can be found here, written by Jodie over at her Jelly Wares blog.
  • To find more patterns for items that can be donated to Newborns in Need, look here.
  • For more information about donating to Newborns in Need, see here.
This entry was posted in Fandom, Marvel, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gear for the littlest heroes

  1. dangrdafne says:

    Oh my goodness. I am practically in tears from how adorable this is to how wonderful you are to make these for the babies. Sooo precious.

Leave a Reply

