Nananananananana – you know the rest!

San Diego Comic-Con might be months away (good luck to everyone during open registration this weekend!), but that doesn’t mean I can’t get an early start on my critters! With my book coming out soon I’ve got a lot on my plate, so I’m trying to pace things a little further out in terms of making Comic-Con critters. That being said, here’s the first two critters for San Diego Comic-Con 2017’s critter drops! And this time I decided to go retro:

Classic batman copy

Nananananananana BATMAN!!

Batman has shown up to Comic-Con every year for my critter drops since I first started making these little guys back in 2011, but I’d always modeled him from the animated series.

Batman 2011

First Batman I ever made! Memorieeees…

This time I went with classic Batman. There’s so much more color! And fun campiness! And all of the crazy onomatopoeias that would blare up on the TV screen whenever there was a fight. BAM! POW!

Batman detail copy

One that always confused me was “BIFF!” Not sure what kind of fight would produce the sound “BIFF!”, but it sounds kind of fun.

And Batman wouldn’t be complete without a villain! The beauty of the Batman franchise is that there’s SO many good memorable villains to pick from:

I’ve previously made the Joker, Harley Quinn (both classic and Suicide Squad), Two-Face, Catwoman, and Scarecrow, and I’m still nowhere close to making a dent into Batman’s extensive list of foes. For classic Batman, I decided to go with an eccentric little ornithophile:

Penguin copy

“QUACK QUACK QUAAAAACK!!”

I don’t know about you guys, but it wasn’t until I was making this little guy that I realized that Penguin historically has nothing to do with actual penguins, with the exception of Tim Burton’s Penguin. (let me know if there are others!) He’s just a kooky dude in a tux who quacks and has an arsenal of weaponized umbrellas. Huh.

Penguin detail copy 2

You’re looking dapper as ever with your monocle, Mr. Cobblepot.

My first two critters for San Diego Comic-Con 2017, ready to go! You know the drill, if you find them at Comic-Con they’re yours to keep! If you’ve got your badges from return registration, congratulations! If you’ll be fighting the good fight during open registration this weekend, may the odds be ever in your favor.

Batman & penguin copy

If you want to join my hunt for crocheted critters at San Diego Comic-Con this year, follow me on either twitter or facebook to track my drops! I just ask for two things if you find a critter: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend! 2) Let me know where the little buddy’s new home will be! Good luck, and happy hunting!

The Geeky Hooker

This entry was posted in Adoptions, Batman, SDCC, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nananananananana – you know the rest!

  1. Where on earth did you get a tiny baseball bat for Harley Quinn?? She’s totally my favourite, by the way

  2. Pingback: Under the Tents: Heroes Brew Fest, Terry Moore, The Expanse, Michael Varrati, Amy Mebberson | San Diego Comic-Con Unofficial Blog

  3. dangrdafne says:

    These are incredibly adorable. One day I hope to find one of your critters.

  4. Tami says:

    These are the cutest little amigurumis I have seen in my life! 😀

  5. Bethany-Jade says:

    Yaaaas these are excellent!

Leave a Reply

