Supercalifragil-wha?

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. Loved it. Loads of fun, just like the first one. Lots of good one-line zingers, but one of the best moments involved Yondu:

Yondu Poppins-4383 copy

“I’M MARY POPPINS, Y’ALL!”

I was already seeing memes for that line before I even saw the movie, but once I saw the context of it I knew I had to make it into a critter. Yondu may not have been the magical nanny that Mary Poppins was, but he sure did what he could for little Peter Quill.

Mary Poppins might be practically perfect in every way, but a lot of things bothered me about making Yondu Poppins. I like to keep things as accurate as possible, and well, a lot of Yondu Poppins didn’t follow movie accuracy.

Yondu doesn’t have red eyebrows in the movie. He actually doesn’t have eyebrows at all. But he looked so much goofier with a pair of grumpy eyebrows sewn on, so I added them anyway.

Yondu Poppins-4342 copy

Mary Poppins’s skirt isn’t black, it’s navy blue. She doesn’t have a red ribbon belt, but a lot of the DIY costumes I saw seemed to love adding it in, and when I made little Yondu Poppins I felt like adding a little red belt gave a nice accent to it all.

Yondu Poppins-4373 copy

The floral print on the Yondu Poppins bag looks NOTHING like the original floral print on Mary Poppins’s bag in the movie, but dammit, I tried.

Yondu Poppins-4346 copy

Given all the deviances that I made from the original material, I’m still pretty pleased with Yondu Poppins overall. He’ll be floating in to San Diego Comic-Con for a critter drop. Find him and he’s yours to keep! Just don’t expect him to be much of a nanny. He might look the part, but he’ll probably steal your stuff and run off.

Yondu Poppins-4357 copy

Worst. Nanny. Ever.

As for my thoughts on Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2….

(SPOILERS AHEAD!!!)

(AHOY! THERE BE SPOILERS!!)

I loved it. I loved Vol. 1 more, but Vol. 2 had all the same elements that made the first movie great, which is all I really wanted. And who knew that the movie would be more about Yondu than anything else in the end? None of the marketing gave that away, and I love that Marvel teased just enough in the trailers and TV spots to keep everyone interested, but didn’t give away any of the main plot points. It’s nice to still be surprised by a movie when too many trailers tend to give away too much of a movie these days. My thoughts:

  • Little Groot just wants to dance, y’all. He just wants to DANCE.
  • There was a heavy family theme in this one. Nebula and Gamora’s strained relationship. Peter’s conflicting feelings towards meeting his father. Peter’s realization that he had a father figure all along in Yondu. The guardians all referring to themselves collectively as a family. The only thing that could’ve made the family theme any more obvious was to have Lilo and Stitch fly in and have them scream “OHANA” in everyone’s faces. Aside from the theme being a little too transparent, I liked it and I liked that it added a sweet undertone to an otherwise goofy movie.
  • The soundtrack! I loved the soundtrack in the first movie, and I love it in this one too. I loved the way “The Chain” was used in the scene between Peter and Ego, and a bit of Fleetwood Mac brings back memories of family road trips with my dad commandeering the music selection with his favorite 70s tunes. Throw in some Cat Stevens and Simon & Garfunkel and you’d have a large chunk of my passive childhood playlist.
  • THE HOFF. Holy shit, that cameo came out of nowhere, and in such a weird moment. It threw me off and I LOVED it.
  • The end credit scenes: That’s a lot of loose ends. Makes me curious how they’re going to squeeze everything in the next movie. On top of whatever hijinks the guardians will get themselves into, you’ve got Ayesha introducing Adam, a Ravagers reunion, and Nebula flying off to kill Thanos. And that’s all without including the fact that they’re supposed to meet the Avengers at some point.

(END SPOILERS)

I remember having serious doubts about the first Guardians of the Galaxy movie and it ended up being one of my favorites in the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe. This time I put my trust in Marvel and walked away happy. I don’t know when the Marvel train is going to slow down, and to be honest I’m (pleasantly) surprised that it’s still going strong. I really need to learn to sit back and enjoy the ride…9 years of enjoyable movies is a CRAZY good track record. Here’s to moving on to a decade of fun.

If you want to join my hunt for crocheted critters at San Diego Comic-Con this year, follow me on either twitter or facebook to track my drops! I just ask for two things if you find a critter: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend! 2) Let me know where the little buddy’s new home will be! Good luck, and happy hunting!

The Geeky Hooker

This entry was posted in Adoptions, Marvel, SDCC. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Supercalifragil-wha?

  1. Phew thanks for the spoilers warning, I’ve still not managed to see the film yet! But Yondu Poppins makes me want to see it even more!

  2. Moingfinne says:

    LOVE THE PURSE!!!!

  3. Pingback: Under the Tents: Funko, The Geeky Hooker, Kneady Bakers, Wizards of the Coast, Cancer Gets LOST | San Diego Comic-Con Unofficial Blog

  4. Pingback: Getting a grip. | The Geeky Hooker

Leave a Reply

