Some kind of wonderful

I DID IT! I managed to squeeze out one more critter to drop at Comic-Con next week! This was a project that was started long ago, but then I injured my hand and had to put this on delay. I drafted up this post over a month ago, so it might seem a bit dated, since the internet moves at the speed of light. But dammit, it’s done! One last critter, ready to go for SDCC!

Wonder Woman. What a HUGE sigh of relief. I was so, SO worried about this movie. DC hasn’t had a good track record lately with their films, and the stakes for Wonder Woman were incredibly high. It’s the first major female-led comic book movie in a long time, and it’s the first major Wonder Woman production since the 70’s. It’s literally been DECADES since Wonder Woman has been at the forefront, and if this movie failed, it was going to be a huge letdown at the box office and an even bigger letdown socially speaking. This movie HAD to do well because of everything it stood for in terms of doing the character justice, and for representation of women in a genre that is so severely lacking in substantial female representation.

Wonder Woman-4437

And it was wonderful. It was so incredibly good, and director Patty Jenkins got so many things right with this one. There was no stupid invisible plane. But there was plenty of strength, charm, and lots of heart.

I had doubts about Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman when I first heard about her appearing in Dawn of Justice. I thought she seemed too…delicate? Strikingly beautiful, but I felt like Wonder Woman should’ve been played by someone who had more of a commanding presence. I was so wrong. So, SO wrong. Holy shit she knocked it out of the park. Gal Gadot made Wonder Woman the well-rounded character she deserved to be. She was compassionate, inquisitive, intelligent, strong-willed, and powerful all at once. Everything you’d want in a major female protagonist. She’s the kind of heroine I wish I had as a kid. Young girls should absolutely see this one, because Wonder Woman was portrayed as exactly the kind of heroine that they could all look up to.

WW detail-4447

As for my thoughts on the movie: (SPOILERS INCOMING!!) – ok, so I wrote this over a month ago, most people have seen the movie by now, but still, SPOILERS AHEAD.
 
 
 
 
AHOY, THERE BE SPOILERS!
 
 
 
 

  • Holy crap Ares was real! I was convinced that Diana was going to go through battle and then find out that the story of Ares was more of a metaphor for the dark side of the hearts of mankind, and that she would only be able to bring peace if she could subdue that darkness, blah blah blah. Nope. Turns out he was an actual dude.
  • I expected a FUS RO DAH! out of Ares. I played too much Skyrim.
  • Having a random supernatural being show up on planet Earth out of nowhere would normally peeve me to no end, but in this case it worked. If Diana was able to take on an entire battlefront almost single-handedly then it wouldn’t make sense for the big baddie in the end to be just a juiced up dude in a uniform. It had to be something far beyond human limits, and Ares was the perfect way to bring in a final villain that would actually be a threat to her.
  • Robin Wright as Anthiope. She. Looks. INCREDIBLE. That’s some serious gym inspiration right there. This is such a superficial thing, but I felt like Gal Gadot was too skinny to be Wonder Woman when she was first announced for the role, and I still think she looked too skinny. Robin Wright’s physique seemed much better suited for the role of Wonder Woman. Then I found out that Gal Gadot packed on SEVENTEEN POUNDS of muscle over the course of 6 months. I mean, at that point homegirl is just genetically blessed. Damn.
  • They never once called Diana “Wonder Woman.” And I loved it. Kind of like how Selina Kyle was never referred to as “Catwoman” in The Dark Knight Rises.

 
 
 
 
END SPOILERS.

So that’s one last critter for me to take with me to Comic-Con! That brings my count to a total of seven critters this year. Far less than previous years, but I’ve got more than enough guest art to make up for it this year! THIRTY-SEVEN pieces to be exact, bringing it to a total of 44 pieces for me to drop this year. THERE’S SO MUCH. It’s overwhelming and awesome at the same time. If you haven’t done so already, read this year’s drop guidelines. Otherwise to everyone who’ll be joining the hunt next week: have fun, and happy hunting!

Wonder Woman-4452 copy

If you want to join my hunt for crocheted critters at San Diego Comic-Con this year, follow me on either twitter or facebook to track my drops! I just ask for two things if you find a critter: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend! 2) Let me know where the little buddy’s new home will be! Good luck, and happy hunting!

The Geeky Hooker

This entry was posted in Adoptions, SDCC. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some kind of wonderful

  1. dangrdafne says:

    I was speechless at the awesomeness of the movie and now I am speechless at the awesomeness of your Wonder Woman “critter”. Spectacular!!!

  2. Do you sell the patterns? My oldest son would love batman and penguine, my youngest loves Deadpool and I would LOVE to add Wonder Woman to my collection!
    Such wonderful work!

  3. Pingback: …a league of their own? | The Geeky Hooker

Leave a Reply

