Going to New York Comic-Con? Be on the lookout for critters!

Sometimes the universe calls out to me in strange ways. And by “universe,” I mean a friend with a cell phone. One of my buddies sent me the following text message not too long ago:

“Gonna go to nycc next month. U guys wanna join me? We could split a room. Come up for a weekend of eats n comic con.”

Uh…YES? How did I not even think of that? IT’S NEW YORK COMIC CON! Even if the convention itself doesn’t turn out to be an awesome time (but I’m sure it will!), it’s in freakin’ NEW YORK CITY. I’ve only been to New York City once, and it was over 12 years ago for a high school trip. I had a great time, but visiting NYC when you’re a teenager who’s being chaperoned by a bunch of teachers obviously isn’t going to be the same experience as visiting on your own as an adult. Words cannot express how excited I am to go back. THERE’S SO MUCH TO EAT! Without hesitation I requested some vacation time, bought myself a pass, and I’m ready to head to the big apple.

NYCC zombie (IMG_8652)

No, Rick Grimes isn’t going to hurt you. Well, this time he won’t.

And since it’s another comic convention, of course I’m going to try to drop a few critters for adoption! Since this ended up being on short notice, I won’t be able to crank out nearly as many critters as I did for the adoption lineup I had for San Diego Comic-Con, but I’ll try to get a small handful of critters to scatter around! If you’ve looked for a critter before, you’ll know the rules. If not, here’s what you need to know to find a critter!

  1. Follow me either on facebook or twitter. That’s how I’ll communicate my drops. I’ll try to post my general location if I plan on doing a drop soon so that people can narrow down where the critter will be, and of course I’ll post a photo of the critter in its hiding spot once I drop it. So pick your social media poison!

    The Geeky Hooker

  2. Follow the hashtag #CRITTERDROP. There’s usually lots of other people/organizations on various social media venues during conventions like this, so hopefully it’ll help filter things out.
  3. If you find a critter, let me know that you found it! Each critter is tagged with a card with my contact info. I just ask for two things if you find a critter: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend, and 2) Let me know where the critter’s new home will be so I can add it to my map! I do this knowing that there’s a potential that anyone could swipe the critter and never get back to me on it, but it doesn’t make it any less disheartening when one goes missing.
  4. Critters will be dropped one at a time. No pairs/groups of critters.

Otherwise, stay tuned and I’ll post up critters available for adoption until I take off for New York City!

One thought on “Going to New York Comic-Con? Be on the lookout for critters!

Leave a comment