FÚTBOL IS LIFE!

This blog may have been inactive for a minute, but the SDCC critters certainly are not! If you’re new here, welcome! I’m Cindy, and since 2011 I’ve been crocheting little characters from pop culture and leaving them behind for strangers to find at San Diego Comic-Con (and occasionally on my travels) by leaving clues on twitter! Make yourself comfortable, maybe stay for a while, yeah? Without further ado, here’s the first critter for SDCC 2023!

A little Dani Rojas, with the tulip he wanted to see so badly. Because an entire field would’ve been too overwhelming.

Admittedly I’ve been uninspired with my crocheting for the last few years, especially when so many of my ideas come from the excitement around pop culture. I’ve enjoyed a lot of the MCU spinoff TV shows on Disney+, liked House of the Dragon, but hadn’t seen anything that I was really enthusiastic about over the last few years until Ted Lasso came along. I remember chuckling at the Premiere League ads on NBC sports years ago, and then feeling a huge dose of skepticism when I heard that 8 years later they were turning this one-time gag into a full-blown TV show. And then I was met with even more skepticism when people said it was really, REALLY good. I was so happy to be proven wrong. Who knew that a show that came from a goofy joke about an American football coach coaching “the other” football could have so much humor and heart in it?

To that end, Dani Rojas is here to kick off (pun ABSOLUTELY intended) this year’s SDCC 2023 critterdrop lineup! Find him at SDCC and he’s yours to keep! Just make sure to keep him away from greyhounds and tulip fields.

If you’ve never followed my drops before, here’s what you need to know:

  1. Follow me on Instagram or twitter for updates on new critters!
  2. When the time comes, follow me on twitter to track the drops, where I’ll post hints on where I’ve dropped them for a lucky finder!
  3. Follow the hashtag #CRITTERDROP to filter out my tweets if you want to see the ones pertaining to the drops only.
  4. If you find a critter, let me know that you found it! Please check in if you find a critter. Each one is tagged with a card with my contact info, I just ask for two things if you find one: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend, and 2) Let me know where the critter’s new home will be so I can add it to my map! I do this knowing that there’s a potential that anyone could swipe the critter and never get back to me on it, but it doesn’t make it any less disheartening when one goes missing.

SDCC2023 critter season has begun! Let’s get these little guys happy homes!

2 thoughts on “FÚTBOL IS LIFE!

  1. ladydragon52 says:

    I love your wonderful critters! Will you have one or 2 to donate to the Blood Drive? Thank you for your support!

Leave a comment