Cat ‘n Bat

A bit of a late start this year, but at least it’s started! SAN DIEGO COMIC-CON CRITTER MAKING SEASON HAS BEGUN. If you’re new here, hello! I like to crochet little characters and every year I go to San Diego Comic-Con to scatter them around for strangers to find! And with that, I present to everyone the first two critters for San Diego Comic-Con 2019!

I’ve made Batman dozens of times. He was one of the first critters I ever made, and I’ve brought a Batman with me every year ever since I started doing my critter drops back in 2011. He’s been dropped at numerous comic conventions, vacation spots, etc. He’s been a constant in my lineup of critters for San Diego Comic-Con, and this year is no exception.

Batman-5263 copy

But one of his most famous counterparts, Catwoman? Not so much. I made a Catwoman ages ago, but I’ve never made her for Comic-Con. Which is a damn shame because Catwoman’s such an iconic character, and one who wasn’t just on screen to be eye candy. Selina Kyle is kind of a badass, and it’s about damn time I brought her with me to Comic-Con.

Catwoman 2-6872 copy

Like many of the Batman characters, Catwoman’s had several different looks over the years and across different media, but the animated series Catwoman (and Michelle Pfeiffer’s amazing Catwoman look in Batman Returns!) are always who I picture whenever Catwoman is mentioned!

Catwoman-6891 copy

While I’d argue that Catwoman’s greatest weapon is her smarts, of course she wouldn’t be out without her bullwhip either:

Catwoman whip-6901

One of the fun parts of making Catwoman was having an excuse to draw on some cat eye makeup for her!

Catwoman makeup-6906

But the part I was most excited about was her ears. Because after eight years of crocheting, I FINALLY MADE A TINY, POINTED TRIANGLE OH MY GOD.

Catwoman ear-6908

I’m not even joking about how stupid happy I was about this. This has been a struggle for me every time I make Batman. Those little ears always turn out a little bit rounded and I always have to fiddle with them so that he looks a little less like Bear-man and a little more like a bat. It never works out 100%. I didn’t figure this out until I made Catwoman, so Batman’s ears are still a little rounded out, but goddammit, I FINALLY GOT IT.

Batman and Catwoman-6882 copy

At any rate, Catwoman will be causing trouble as usual and Batman will be trying to keep up with her at San Diego Comic-Con this year! Find them and they’re yours to keep! Comic-Con critter making has commenced!

If you want to join my hunt for crocheted critters at San Diego Comic-Con this year, follow me on either twitter or facebook to track my drops! I just ask for two things if you find a critter: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend! 2) Let me know where the little buddy’s new home will be! Good luck, and happy hunting!

The Geeky Hooker

 

2 thoughts on “Cat ‘n Bat

Leave a comment