Higher, further, faster

I saw Captain Marvel last week! I was a little worried because I wasn’t seeing a lot of buzz about it, but I walked in keeping my expectations at bay, and I liked it! But I didn’t love it. I’d rank it as a solid middle-of-the-road Marvel film, but I’ve got some misgivings with that sentiment alone. Either way, I liked it enough to make a critter to drop at San Diego Comic-Con!

captain Marvel-6932 copy

Meet Carol!

Carol’s pretty cool. Air force pilot, spunky, and well, she kinda had this thing happen to her where she kinda lost her memory and thought she was an alien. Don’t worry about it, she managed to figure it out.

captain Marvel and Goose-6938

Carol’s cool, but anyone who’s seen the movie can agree that her furry little friend named Goose stole the show. I won’t say how, but he’s quite the little troublemaker.

Goose-6950

Goose-6975 copy

Goose can be a handful, but otherwise he’s a good boy. A very, very good boy.

Otherwise here are my thoughts on Captain Marvel! SPOILERS AHEAD:

 

 

 

 

 

WARNING THERE BE SPOILERS!!

 

 

 

 

 

STILL THERE? LAST CHANCE TO SKIP OVER TO THE END…

  • Love love LOVED the tribute to Stan Lee in the opening credits. What a great way to commemorate him. ❤
  • Overall impression: I liked it, but I didn’t love it. And I have an issue with that in itself. Good, substantial female-led superhero movies are SEVERELY in low supply, and since this was Marvel’s first go at it, I really wanted it to do well for social reasons. If Black Panther had been only mediocre it would’ve been a huge letdown PR-wise. Thankfully Black Panther knocked it out of the park, but unfortunately I can’t say the same for Captain Marvel. It was good, but it wasn’t good enough to set the bar that it needed to set for other female-led superhero movies to come.
  • I walked out feeling like I didn’t know much about Carol Danvers at all? I feel like they could’ve shortened a LOT of the first portion of the movie and built more of her backstory. There was all this talk about Brie Larson spending time with airforce pilots to get to know their lifestyle and see what they’re like, and they didn’t show ANY of Carol Danvers’s history of how she became a badass pilot?
  • On the other hand I loved that they didn’t make her into a sexy bombshell heroine! She was just a girl, trying to figure out her past and save the galaxy. She ain’t got time for cleavage-popping spandex suits.
  • I loved the overall theme of Captain Marvel constantly being told to suppress her emotions because it was supposed to be a “weakness,” when in fact it was actually what gave her strength. I just wish it was presented more prominently, it was only brought up a few times and then they haphazardly threw it in with the final fight. It would’ve been SUCH a valuable message if they had made it more of a focal point, especially for an audience of young girls. Speaking from experience, suppressing emotions just because you don’t want to be seen as “weak” or “crazy” is one of the worst things you can do to yourself. We’re all human and emotions are exactly what make us remarkable.
  • Goose! I’m not a cat person (I’m allergic!), but that’s one cute cat. Or flerken.
  • Clearly I was in a theatre full of cat lovers, because there was an audible collective gasp when the Skrulls put a muzzle on poor Goose.
  • WE FINALLY FOUND OUT HOW NICK FURY LOST HIS EYE AND I LOVE IT.
  • I LOVED Ben Mendehlson as Talos and frankly (and unfortunately) he may have been my favorite character in the whole movie. More than Carol Danvers herself. Lots of heart in that character, even behind all those prosthetics and makeup.
  • “Why would I turn into a filing cabinet?” Again, Ben Mendelsohn stealing scenes with the delivery.
  • How much did they spend on the soundtrack? Hello nostalgia. Particularly loved the use of Nirvana’s “Come as You Are.” Took me back to my high school days.
  • Anyone get the warm fuzzies when Monica was being so sweet to the little Skrull girl? I also found out later that Monica turns into kind of a badass herself in comic book lore. I’d love to see this play out in the movies. 🙂

 

 

 

END SPOILERS.

Both little Carol and Goose will be up for grabs at San Diego Comic-Con, and they’ll be dropped together as one unit! Find them and they’re yours to keep!

Captain MArvel and Goose-6983 copy

If you want to join my hunt for crocheted critters at San Diego Comic-Con this year, follow me on either twitter or facebook to track my drops! I just ask for two things if you find a critter: 1) Send me a photo of your new friend! 2) Let me know where the little buddy’s new home will be! Good luck, and happy hunting!

The Geeky Hooker

 

One thought on “Higher, further, faster

Leave a comment