Going to San Diego Comic-Con? Here’s the adoption lineup!

Last year I went to San Diego Comic-Con for the first time, the glorious land of all geekiness. I saw some amazing (and some not-so-amazing) cosplayers, collected all sorts of awesome swag, saw celebrities all around (I got to meet the Mythbusters crew!), and was so overwhelmed/frustrated/amazed/geeked out that I decided to do it all over again. Oh, and I happened to drop off 11 little critters too, which started this whole shindig of dropping little guys off for people to find. 🙂 Soooo…without further ado, here’s this year’s Comic-Con adoption lineup: 


I’ve got four Game of Thrones house sigil critters

I’ve got a handful of Avengers

An angsty member of the X-men

A caped crusader with an insane clown

A street fighter (with a hair makeover!)

A single ninja turtle. I know, LAME. I had great ambitions to make all four of them, and well, I ran out of time and I ran out of green yarn. But I guess all you Leonardo fans will be in luck, because this lil’ dude will be up for grabs! Anywho, moving on…

I’ve got a half-Vulcan USS Enterprise officer

An explosive lil’ Bob-omb

And a pair of henchmen.

Here’s the thing about the henchmen…those who are familiar with the Venture Bros. know that Henchman #21 and Henchman #24 are pretty much inseparable. So it’d be a crime to drop these guys off separately, right? I also spent a lot of time on these dudes, so I want to be sure that whoever gets them is someone who would really enjoy them. Sooo…these guys will still be up for grabs, but I won’t be dropping them at random at the con. You guys will have to find me to get the henchmen. I’ll post details later as Comic-Con approaches, but if you want to snag the henchmen, stay tuned to find out how you can get them. 🙂 Sixteen critters up for grabs (fifteen if you count the henchmen as a single unit), some reappearing for a second time, some making a debut appearance, all looking for good homes!

Final yearbook photo before they all go off to Comic-Con!

Just a reminder again that I will NOT be posting live dropoffs to this blog (wordpress.com simply isn’t built for on-the-go posting), so if you or any of your friends are going to be at Comic-Con, follow me on twitter or “like” my facebook page to keep track of the dropoffs. I’ve been working on this lineup of critters for a few months now, so spread the word and give my lil’ buddies good homes!

The Geeky Hooker

7 thoughts on “Going to San Diego Comic-Con? Here’s the adoption lineup!

  1. Natasha says:

    These are so amazing! How can I look forward to Comic Con even more? These look amazing. I would love to know if you do these patterns on your own or have a website for inspiration? I’ve been wanting to learn something crafty so would love tips. Cheers!

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Thank you so much! I do most of these on my own, but if I make something straight from an existing pattern, I’ll mention the source at the end of the blog post. Otherwise a lot of times all it takes is to find just one good “baseline” pattern and work everything from there! My Game of Thrones critters were mostly based on this pattern, if you want something to start with for 4-legged critters! http://sasya-handmade.blogspot.com/2011/05/amigurumi-tony-chopper-free-pattern.html
      Have a great time at Comic-Con! I’m excited and anxious at the same time! 🙂

      • Natasha says:

        That takes a lot of talent. (Wow, I was amazed in that last post… still am!). I might need to try taking my hand at one or two. You have a great time at the convention, too! I hope that I spot a familiar little critter somewhere…

    • Geeky Hooker says:

      Keep in mind these are critters from last year (2012)! Keep up with this blog to see what I’ve got in store for this year’s adoption lineup, and follow me on twitter or facebook to keep track of where I actually drop the critters when it comes time for Comic-Con!

Leave a comment